Daily Archives: August 12, 2011

Killing Off Atticus Finch

Relax.  You can’t kill off a fictional figure.  And it’s only a pseudonym on top of that.  On this blog it is a name removed from reality – times two.

I never did have any strong feelings about online anonymity for bloggers, or “blawgers” as the case may be.  That is quite in contrast to the opinions of others in the field, though.  Apparently, not long before I began this little project there was a lot of back an forth amid the blawging community about morality of anonymous blawgers, anonymous posters, even anonymous commenters, and many took very strong positions.  The strong positions were mostly disdainful of anonymity; few seemed to strongly favor the idea, but then maybe the idea just isn’t the kind that anyone strongly favors.  “Favoring” the practice is more like taking a “to each his own” approach.

Anyway, I had my reasons.  For me it was a matter of prudence, one of the four cardinal virtues that I endeavor to practice.

Had my reasons.  Past tense.  Those reasons have faded, but more importantly have now been superseded by reasons to identify myself.  So I’m going to do that in a few days.  A few days from now is also a prudent delay.

I like to be prudent.

Continue reading

4 Comments

Filed under Striking lawyers, wrongful convictions